(503) 274-7022
Contact Us


5 starsMar 06, 2018 by Gerry Briggs

I was fortunate enough to inherit a beautiful trio of tourmaline jewelry (necklace, bracelet, and earrings) and decided it was time to sell them. At first I tried to do it on my own through research on the internet, finding appropriate companies, writing those jewelry companies, and sending them photos. Several people were interested but they wanted to know what my asking price was. At this point I needed professinal help, so I went back to doing research and found Pacific Gemological Labs in Portland. I read through their website, liked the qualifications of Mona Miller and called for a consultation. Mona gave us pertinent information on the market, for my product, and a realistic price range that we might expect. Since they also act as brokers, we contracted with her to sell my items. These items were very specific and not the easiest to broker. But, Within a two week period they were sold for a fair price minus the commission fee for PGL which is very reasonable.

I would recommend this company for several reasons: Mona Miller for her knowledge and experience in her field, which includes an extensive network of other professionals who help her sell your beautiful jewelry; the trustworthiness of the company and of course their professionalism. Thank you Mona for doing such a great job.

5 starsMar 04, 2015 by sol varon
I have used PGL for over thirty years and have found them to be extremely professional, excellent in their grading and descriptions and very thorough in their research of items. I am a dealer in antique jewelry and recommend them to my clients and to other dealers and will continue to do so. There is simply no one better in Portland or the surrounding area for accurate, correct appraisals!
5 starsJun 06, 2013 by Maddy A

I've gone to Pacific Gem Labs twice to get some jewelry appraisals. The first time was for my engagement ring, and the second time was for another ring.

On both pieces, I worked with Mark, he's quite knowledgeable and friendly. He also took the time to answer any questions that I had about the jewelry and the appraisal.

They estimate the appraisal takes about 90 minutes but I've been able to pick up my jewelry after about an hour. You can also drop off your item and pick it up later in the day.

There's a coffee shop on the first floor of the building (Lotus & Bean Espresso Bar), a Starbucks about two blocks away, and plenty of malls around if you're looking to stay and kill time. While there is a small waiting area stocked with magazines in their office, I preferred to get out and let them do their work.

Both my items were appraised within industry range. The difference here, in my opinion, didn't warrant a second appraisal elsewhere. They'll also clean your jewelry for you. Their written appraisal is detailed and is what jewelry insurers typically want.

5 starsJul 18, 2011 by Amanda S.
I had a engagement ring appraised here, and I would go back. It was very professional and I feel it was a fair appraisal.
5 starsJun 02, 2011 by Christine D.

Sometimes a girl needs an appraisal, so I called a friend and told her I needed a good appraiser for some jewelry I had. I thought, since I was recently engaged, I should have the ring checked out. I also had some earrings that I had been promising myself that I would get appraised.

I called and made an appointment. They made it for a couple days out and said I could drop off my pieces or simply wait for them. I thought since I was already driving downtown, I would just wait. They told me of the coffee shops downstairs, etc. However, I was content to catch up on my reading.

They had a couple of chairs out of the way for you to wait while the gemologist worked with your items.

They told me to allow two hours but I was back on the road after about an hour and a half. They validate your parking up to an hour, which is good because there is a Smart Park right across the street.

The values came out about where I figured they would, which was good. They also cleaned up my gems for me. The gemologist did make some suggestions about my earrings and perhaps getting new backs for the earrings, which I will probably consider in the future.

I'll be back if I need anything else appraised. Quick service, while you wait.

5 starsDec 10, 2008 by WildCat H.
I had a diamond ring appraised there and they were very professional. The certificate came complete with a photo of the ring and a detailed evaluation. I would definitely recommend them to others.
5 starsAug 23, 2008 by Ann T.
I recently had a business transaction regarding a diamond and a new setting with Mona and Linda at Pacific Gem Labs. They were extremely fair, courteous and professional. I recommend them very highly!
5 starsApr 02, 2007 by Wanda G.
Most professional and experienced appraisers I've known! They provided great service and knowledge and I would recommend them to anyone needing jewelry appraisals.